The Collaborative
For Research and Training in Youth Health and Development


The Collaborative was incorporated as a Charitable Trust on the 27th October 2004. The original trustees were Gillian Abel, Susan Bagshaw, Peter Harman, Lisa Fitzgerald, Alison Locke, Sarah Lee Te Huki, Maria Pasene, Lynda Jeffs, Ria Schroder, Marijke Freeman-Moir, and Tammy Rouse

Lynda Jeffs was on the original board, and resigned in order to take on the role of development manager. In 2006 she moved from this position to continue the management of the FRIENDS evaluation project full time.

His Honour Judge A J Becroft, Principal Youth Court Judge, agreed to be Patron to the Collaborative in 2005, and Professor Ian Town deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Canterbury agreed to be our second patron in 2009.

Our current Board is made up of Alison Locke as Chairperson Paul McGirr (treasurer) Bronwyn Dunnachie, Janine Ballinger, Steve Langley, Daryle Deering, and Sue Bagshaw as Director.

The Collaborators

Dr Sue Bagshaw (BSc (Hons) MB BS FRACShM Hon FRNZCGP CNZM) is a primary care adolescent and sexual health doctor at 298 Youth Health and is now the Director of the Collaborative. She is also a senior lecturer in Adolescent Health at the University Of Otago Christchurch School Of Medicine. Sue has been involved with research and training in adolescent and sexual health over the last 30 years.

Ria Schroder (PhD) completed her PhD at the University of Canterbury in 2004 and is an active member of the team at the National Addiction Centre as a research fellow. Ria is skilled in both qualitative and quantitative methodology. Ria organises the Collaborative Seminar programme and is part time manager of the Research Committee.

Alison Locke is working for the Ministry of Education and was formerly Avonside Girls High School counsellor and Pasifika Dean. Alison has a strong background in health education and provision of health services in schools. Alison contributes to the education and research projects of the Collaborative as her experience and expertise is required. She is now chairperson of the board of trustees.

Janine Ballinger (LLB, BCom) is a senior solicitor at the law firm Duncan Cotterill. She specialises in all areas of commercial and property law as well as asset protection and trusts. She carries out legal work for a wide range of individual, commercial and corporate clients and is a trusted advisor to her clients in those practice areas.

Bronwyn Dunnachie is a nurse specialising in mental health and has always worked with young people. She was manager of the Youth Specialty Service of mental health problems in Canterbury and now works for the Werry Centre organising education and training.

Steve Langley joined the Board in 2009. Steve has recently retired from teaching at Kimihia parents college and is also on the national alcohol helpline.

Paul McGirr is a chartered accountant currently working for the ministry of Education.